Easter 2021: How many countries sent planes to Jerusalem for the Holy Fire?

There were 11 countries sending planes to Jerusalem for the Holy Fire, most of them with a Christian Orthodox majority population. They flew back home with the Holy Fire on Holy Saturday.

Although Ben Gurion Airport is still closed due to COVID restrictions, Israel allowed several countries to send delegations to receive the Holy Fire that descends in the Church of the Holy Sepulchre every year on Holy Saturday.

The delegations were from Belarus, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Georgia, Greece, Kazakhstan, Poland, the Republic of Moldova, Romania, Russia, and Ukraine.

The Department of World Religions of the Israeli Foreign Ministry announced that special emissaries also delivered the Holy Fire to the Christian communities of Israel, Palestine, and Jordan.

Photo credit: Arhim. Teofil Anăstăsoaie

Facebook comments

Latest News