{"id":569190,"date":"2026-04-29T13:12:56","date_gmt":"2026-04-29T10:12:56","guid":{"rendered":"https:\/\/basilica.ro\/?p=569190"},"modified":"2026-04-29T23:53:35","modified_gmt":"2026-04-29T20:53:35","slug":"historic-cemetery-confirmed-iasi-church-skeletons-found","status":"publish","type":"post","link":"https:\/\/basilica.ro\/en\/historic-cemetery-confirmed-iasi-church-skeletons-found\/","title":{"rendered":"Archaeologists confirm historic burial ground at Ia\u0219i church after human remains found"},"content":{"rendered":"<p><strong>Archaeologists have confirmed the existence of an old cemetery surrounding the Church of Saints Athanasius and Cyril in Ia\u0219i after human remains were uncovered during restoration works at the historic church.<\/strong><\/p>\n<p>The discovery includes 57 human skeletons believed to belong to the cemetery that existed in the churchyard until 1946.<\/p>\n<p>The Church of Saints Athanasius and Cyril is one of the oldest religious monuments in Ia\u0219i. The first documentary reference to the church dates from 1638, while the present structure is believed to have been built between 1672 and 1674.<\/p>\n<h2>Monument Marked by Centuries of Trials<\/h2>\n<p>Over the centuries, the church has endured numerous hardships. It was damaged by fires in 1822 and 1844, by bombing during the Second World War, and by the devastating earthquake of 4 March 1977.<\/p>\n<p>In the twentieth century, the church was even closed for 25 years, from 1972 to 1997, during which time the building deteriorated considerably.<\/p>\n<p>It is now undergoing restoration and structural consolidation through a project financed by the National Heritage Institute.<\/p>\n<p>The project, running through 2027, aims to save the monument, preserve cultural heritage and increase the appeal of Ia\u0219i\u2019s historic district as a destination for visitors.<\/p>\n<h2>\u201cCemetery of the Poor\u201d<\/h2>\n<p>The discovery of 57 skeletons confirms that the area once served as a significant burial ground, as documented in historical records as the \u201cCemetery of the Poor.\u201d<\/p>\n<p>The archaeological findings add a further layer of historical significance to one of Ia\u0219i\u2019s oldest churches and may contribute to a deeper understanding of the city\u2019s ecclesiastical and social history.<\/p>\n<p>Photo: Andrei Apreotesei \/ Facebook<br \/>\n<a href=\"https:\/\/x.com\/BasilicaNews\"><img loading=\"lazy\" decoding=\"async\" class=\"alignnone size-medium wp-image-495171\" src=\"https:\/\/basilica.ro\/wp-content\/uploads\/2024\/09\/banner-x-en-889x148.gif\" alt=\"\" width=\"889\" height=\"148\" srcset=\"https:\/\/basilica.ro\/wp-content\/uploads\/2024\/09\/banner-x-en-889x148.gif 889w, https:\/\/basilica.ro\/wp-content\/uploads\/2024\/09\/banner-x-en-1024x171.gif 1024w, https:\/\/basilica.ro\/wp-content\/uploads\/2024\/09\/banner-x-en-1536x256.gif 1536w, https:\/\/basilica.ro\/wp-content\/uploads\/2024\/09\/banner-x-en-2048x341.gif 2048w\" sizes=\"auto, (max-width: 480px) 440px, (max-width: 768px) 354px, 890px\" \/><\/a><\/p>\n","protected":false},"excerpt":{"rendered":"<p>Archaeologists have confirmed the existence of an old cemetery surrounding the Church of Saints Athanasius and Cyril in Ia\u0219i after human remains were uncovered during restoration works at the historic church. The discovery includes 57 human skeletons believed to belong to the cemetery that existed in the churchyard until 1946. The Church of Saints Athanasius&hellip;<\/p>\n","protected":false},"author":3,"featured_media":568542,"comment_status":"closed","ping_status":"closed","sticky":false,"template":"","format":"standard","meta":{"footnotes":""},"categories":[14],"tags":[25017,37379,24929,37378,34302],"class_list":["post-569190","post","type-post","status-publish","format-standard","has-post-thumbnail","hentry","category-dioceses","tag-cemetery","tag-cemetery-of-the-poor","tag-church-restoration","tag-orthodox-monuments","tag-religious-heritage"],"_links":{"self":[{"href":"https:\/\/basilica.ro\/en\/wp-json\/wp\/v2\/posts\/569190","targetHints":{"allow":["GET"]}}],"collection":[{"href":"https:\/\/basilica.ro\/en\/wp-json\/wp\/v2\/posts"}],"about":[{"href":"https:\/\/basilica.ro\/en\/wp-json\/wp\/v2\/types\/post"}],"author":[{"embeddable":true,"href":"https:\/\/basilica.ro\/en\/wp-json\/wp\/v2\/users\/3"}],"replies":[{"embeddable":true,"href":"https:\/\/basilica.ro\/en\/wp-json\/wp\/v2\/comments?post=569190"}],"version-history":[{"count":0,"href":"https:\/\/basilica.ro\/en\/wp-json\/wp\/v2\/posts\/569190\/revisions"}],"wp:featuredmedia":[{"embeddable":true,"href":"https:\/\/basilica.ro\/en\/wp-json\/wp\/v2\/media\/568542"}],"wp:attachment":[{"href":"https:\/\/basilica.ro\/en\/wp-json\/wp\/v2\/media?parent=569190"}],"wp:term":[{"taxonomy":"category","embeddable":true,"href":"https:\/\/basilica.ro\/en\/wp-json\/wp\/v2\/categories?post=569190"},{"taxonomy":"post_tag","embeddable":true,"href":"https:\/\/basilica.ro\/en\/wp-json\/wp\/v2\/tags?post=569190"}],"curies":[{"name":"wp","href":"https:\/\/api.w.org\/{rel}","templated":true}]}}